City Girl Walking

Exploring life, one footstep at a time

Jigs, Grobs and Cobs

Now that our home has taken shape and we’ve been freed from the weekends of furniture shopping and fund deficits, our Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays are reserved for a spot of fun and exploration.

This weekend started with a Friday evening jig at a local country music concert in a neighbouring town of Darien.

I must admit, when I saw the sign for country music and my husband (who I’m learning is a closet country jig fan), showed rare signs of excitement for an evening out (he tends to prefer a good film and his lazy boy couch these days), I was sceptical. But, being in the States, the home of country, I figured it had to be good.
2015-07-10 18.44.44

We weren’t disappointed! Firstly it was a beautiful evening, still about 80 degrees when we arrived just after 6pm and staying satisfyingly warm throughout the evening.

The band were real crowd pleasers, plenty of dancers and lots of clapping and foot tapping!
2015-07-10 18.47.44Gun Smoke are a band from CT, but given their thick country accents, cowboy hats and Stetsons, you’d be forgiven for thinking they’d come fresh from the Southern Plains. 

2015-07-10 19.06.58

Even their wheels were on board!

2015-07-10 19.07.47

After a taster of country tunes and a couple of refreshing beverages, we headed to the local Thai restaurant – Little Thai Kitchen.

I’m a huge fan of Thai food so when I spotted this place it was a must do for me. My husband is less keen, but now and again he has to cave to my need for Asian cuisine and Friday was one of those evenings.

When it comes to food he’s less keen on, he prefers it if I pick the starters (which we always share), knowing if he doesn’t like my choices I’ll eat the majority.

This time, being as though I’m already on unfamiliar territory, I decided to opt for something different from my normal veg spring rolls. The picture below is a:

(Description taken from the LTK Darien site)

For my UK readers: shrimp = prawns; scallion = spring onion… apologies if I’m teaching you to suck eggs here; it took me a while to figure out what people were on about.

2015-07-10 19.38.24

I couldn’t go completely off piste though, so I ordered a bit of satay chicken to cushion the blow.

2015-07-10 19.41.28For mains, we opted for a couple of chicken stir fries – both looking strangely similar but one with a bit more of a kick than the other. I spent most of the meal trying to stop my nose from running!

2015-07-10 19.51.33

After dinner, we headed back to the jig for a few more tunes and a couple of evening snaps.

We grabbed a couple of beers in this place (a small fondue restaurant off the square – and somewhere I intend to go back to after I eyed up their chocolate fondue desserts!) and stood bopping (well I bopped!) to the familiar sounds of Jonny Cash and the like.

2015-07-10 20.42.05

Dusk is my favourite time of day for pictures; everything looks so delicate in the early evening light.

2015-07-10 20.55.34

I just managed to catch a face-on snap of the lead singer in this final picture of the evening.

2015-07-10 20.54.59

Saturday was a whole different kinda day; still somewhat American themed though!

2015-07-11 12.40.16-2

BBQ time!

Despite these two first timer grillers having to put the brand new stove through its paces! I say stove because that’s basically what an American BBQ is – a full on cooker in the garden.

2015-07-11 13.35.40

The first attempt didn’t look hugely appetising…

2015-07-11 14.02.00

But by round two, the dogs were looking goooood!

2015-07-11 13.35.48

We then tried Bombay style corn on the cobs. ‘Bombay style’ means cobs charred on the open flame, rubbed with fresh lemon juice, and sprinkled with salt and chilli powder. We were told this is how they serve them at the Bombay street markets. They were delicious!

2015-07-11 17.14.17

2015-07-11 17.18.10

Sprinkling the salt and chilli powder over the cobs!

2015-07-11 17.18.03

The BBQ was a success and after a day of basking in the sunshine and eating our fill, we came home.

Saturday ended with what is quickly becoming my favourite thing about living in our new home – another stunning sunset. Summer rocks.

sunset

Let me know what you think!

Information

This entry was posted on July 13, 2015 by in america, City Life, Connecticut, Expat, fashion, Food, lifestyle, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , .
petersouthlandphotography

Photography reviews, ramblings, and other things you need to know

E.E. Rawls Writes

Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Life. Blogger, Author, and Book-lover

This British-American Life

"The difference between America and England is that Americans think 100 years is a long time, while the English think 100 miles is a long way." --Earle Hitchner

the Netski Beat

A Style and Wellness Blog

Diary of an Expat

Chronicling My Life Living as an Expat in Galway, Ireland

Chasing Gains

Just a 19 year old bloke constantly trying to improve himself

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

Charlotte Fox

Style, Beauty, Tips, Tricks & Travel

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

Adventures of Lexie

Musings, daydreams, and adventures with a side of clumsy awkwardness

