City Girl Walking

Exploring life, one footstep at a time

Road Tripping Catskills, NY

Driving over Tappen Zee Bridge, one of the gateways over the Hudson, we began to get a feel for the mountainous terrain that towered in front of us. My husband had decided this would be an interesting place for us to visit, namely because it is one of the big ski areas in NY State and is somewhere we plan to spend at least a few weekends this coming ski season.
2015-07-05 12.09.46

2015-07-05 12.51.52

2015-07-05 20.45.46

We could see one of the ski runs in the distance, looking strangely baron without its white coat. Not living in or near a ski area and not yet being a real hiker – although we lan for this to become one of our summer hobbies – I’ve never seen a ski run without its snow. With or without, the scene got me all excited for the upcoming season! I’m a real snow bunny when I can be. Even our wedding cake was a ski slope with my husband and I donning our ski and snowboard gear!

At about 2.30pm – having left later and driven further and for longer than we expected – we stopped at the Hickory BBQ for some much-needed refuelling.

2015-07-05 14.43.16

It was a typical BBQ joint with booth seating and a few bikers thrown in for good measure.

2015-07-05 14.43.26

I had a grilled chicken burger and my husband settled for a rack of ribs. Both were tasty, not out of this world tasty, but good food and standard oversized portions nonetheless.

2015-07-05 15.07.48

This map gives an idea of where we were in relation to the rest of New England. We were driving around the little body of water you can see next to Kingston, just above the sign for the Interstate 87.

800px-Taconic_State_Parkway_Map

Image source

Once we left the BBQ spot, we drove to Woodstock. The spot where the music festival was held back in the 60’s; although we found out it was actually held in a field about 40 or so miles from the town of Woodstock.

Woodstock was an interesting spot, full of ageing hippies, and spiritual types. It looked like it had some cute coffee shops and restaurants too, but unfortunately parking was very limited and since we’d just eaten we decided to give up on staying there, opting for the countryside instead.

It’s certainly somewhere I’ll visit again though; I like to think of myself as a bit of a closet hippy now and again!

Back on the road and as we continued our journey, we left the main highways and began driving through quieter roads surrounded by stunning backdrops.

2015-07-05 20.45.49-4

2015-07-05 21.43.18

As we drove a bit further, we skirted the edge of the Ashokan Reservoir with it’s many tributaries and waterways.

2015-07-05 21.58.46

I spotted and couldn’t resist snapping this happy little love leaf!

2015-07-05 21.59.03

I also noticed a couple of girls doing a spot of model posing on the stones beneath the bridge. Great spot for a picture!

2015-07-05 22.00.20

Without forgetting a snap of my road-tripping partner!

2015-07-05 22.00.43

The place was magical. The water was sparkly clear and the droplets of sunlight were bouncing off its glittering, silky surface. Beautiful.

2015-07-05 22.01.06

2015-07-05 22.27.46

Our trusty 4×4!

2015-07-05 22.22.44

Here’s me running off to take the next photo. I’ve noticed my hubby always catches pictures of me when I’m not looking. I tend to find them when I download the snaps the following day. I love that he does this; I always think there’s a certain innocence attached to a photo of someone they didn’t know was being taken. It seems to capture the true essence of a person.

2015-07-05 22.28.19

And there I am, basking in the sunshine, soaking up the scenery and posing for the camera.

2015-07-05 22.29.07

I love getting back to nature. It’s funny, as a child I’d get so frustrated on walks in the countryside or at the beach, and now they are one of my favourite ways to fill my time.

There was a distinct smell of Christmas as we walked, with the pine trees towering over us like masters of the forest.

2015-07-05 22.38.58

The strength yet simplicity of nature never ceases to amaze me.

2015-07-05 22.40.47

On our way back, we stopped to pick up a bottle of water. After searching for what felt like an age for somewhere to stop, we stumbled upon this place. Little did I know it would be Trip Advisor recommended and sell the most luscious ice cream!

2015-07-05 20.45.49-1

I went in to get the ‘water’ and came out with these….

2015-07-05 20.45.49-3

Creamy rich chocolate flavour and an Almond Surprise which had sweet additions of coconut flakes, fruit and chunks of nut. Gorgeous.

Bring on the next trip!

Let me know what you think!

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2015 by in america, Expat, New York, Road Trip, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , .
petersouthlandphotography

Photography reviews, ramblings, and other things you need to know

E.E. Rawls Writes

Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Life; Blogger, Author, and Book-lover

This British-American Life

"The difference between America and England is that Americans think 100 years is a long time, while the English think 100 miles is a long way." --Earle Hitchner

the Netski Beat

A Style and Wellness Blog

Diary of an Expat

Chronicling My Life Living as an Expat in Galway, Ireland

Chasing Gains

Just a 19 year old bloke constantly trying to improve himself

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

Charlotte Fox

Style, Beauty, Tips, Tricks & Travel

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

Adventures of Lexie

Musings, daydreams, and adventures with a side of clumsy awkwardness

