City Girl Walking

Exploring life, one footstep at a time

It’s Happening

Over the last few days I’ve been knee deep in boxes, furniture building, lifting, carrying, organising, sorting, tidying and homemaking. For the first time, I’ve felt like a Real Housewife. Not one of those from Orange County or Beverly Hills, but one from somewhere local, down to earth, and well, normal.

Being the homemaker has given me a purpose again; a purpose aside from drinking coffee, exploring the town and writing. And, it’s felt good.

When we left London, and I knew I wouldn’t be able to work for a few months, part of me was excited at the prospect of a long holiday in the heat of the CT summer, but part of me wondered how on earth I’d fill my time. I knew at some point I’d miss having the purpose work gave me, but I didn’t realise how much I’d missed it until my homemaker duties gave me that feeling again.

So yesterday when my husband came home and said he had potentially good or bad news, I knew immediately he was talking about my work permit. “It’ll be ready in seven days…” he said. “How do you feel?” At first I wasn’t sure what to think. “Eeekkk, I’m not ready!” We were told the permit was likely to take between 45 and 90 days to arrive. By the time I get it, it’ll be 40 days.

Part of me was sad that I’d no longer have time to, I guess, do nothing, but, after a few minutes of shock at the thought of being plunged back into normal life again, I could see the positives. I’m getting my purpose back. The business I built in London gave me so much fulfilment and now I get to do it all again, but this time in the States!

To add to my excitement, our new apartment has two bedrooms so the spare room can be used as my office when we don’t have guests. I’ve already designated space, we’ve purchased a desk (although it’s yet to arrive), and I’m now making the space office ready!

Alas, once my permit arrives, I then have to register for a social security number, open a bank account, and register the new business, so the admin nightmare isn’t over yet. Not that it matters, I feel my eagerness to get into the world of work again will pull me through!

(I know many people reading this will think I’m going nuts, and I wouldn’t blame you. But working for myself has been a passion of mine for many years and the thrill of making a living through something I built is unbeatable.)

I’m so excited about the new adventure of building my US business. It’s going to be a huge learning curve, and one with many tricky roundabouts along the way I’m sure, but what an adventure.

Bring on the next chapter of expat life.

One comment on “It’s Happening

  1. Yay! Having something to do, a proper structure, really can make all the difference. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

petersouthlandphotography

Photography reviews, ramblings, and other things you need to know

E.E. Rawls Writes

Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Life. Blogger, Author, and Book-lover

This British-American Life

"The difference between America and England is that Americans think 100 years is a long time, while the English think 100 miles is a long way." --Earle Hitchner

the Netski Beat

A Style and Wellness Blog

Diary of an Expat

Chronicling My Life Living as an Expat in Galway, Ireland

Chasing Gains

Just a 19 year old bloke constantly trying to improve himself

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

Charlotte Fox

Style, Beauty, Tips, Tricks & Travel

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

Adventures of Lexie

Musings, daydreams, and adventures with a side of clumsy awkwardness

