City Girl Walking

Exploring life, one footstep at a time

Mystic Moments

Mystic – the home of the 1980’s film Mystic Pizza! And it’s still standing!

2015-05-17 13.39.42-2

The pizza didn’t disappoint. Being Englander’s I’m not sure we’re the best judges of what constitutes great pizza, but in our eyes, this was it. We opted for the Mystic Special – of course, we couldn’t order anything else! It came steaming hot and within five minutes of ordering. It was light and spongy but with a crispy crust, and crunchy vegetables.

I also opted for a chocolate milkshake. These days, whenever I see milkshakes on the menu I can’t help but order one; I’ve started judging a place by the quality of their shakes. This was one of the best I’ve ever had. It was like drinking sweet chocolate ice cream, with an extra dollop of creaminess on top. Delicious.

2015-05-17 13.02.29

Surprisingly I’ve never seen the film, but given many of my other rom-com favourites from the 80’s – Look Who’s Talking, Dirty Dancing, Three Men and a Little Lady, Top Gun and Cocktail – to name but a few – I felt like I’d seen it a million times. I believe much like the waitresses there since it’s played on repeat all day every day!

Mystic Pizza is like an old school American diner and from what I was told, it hasn’t changed a bit since the film was shot there back in the day. It has the traditional booths as seats and has that distinct American food smell as you walk in.

2015-05-17 12.41.35

After we’d had our fill of pizza and shakes, and to avoid a post-meal slumber, we took ourselves on a walk around the town. I’m not sure what I thought I’d see when visiting Mystic, apart from the obvious, but its charm, outside of that given from the film, was quite alluring.

It reminded me of a quaint English village complete with tea rooms, country style pubs, beautiful scenery and cute little shops.

2015-05-17 13.28.24

It’s clearly a place with money since many of the huge mansion houses came complete with private docks and jetties. It was so hot yesterday that I felt the urge to go for a dip in the surprisingly clear waters. That was until I saw the onslaught of jellyfish. So we settled on the dock with an ice cream and a cup of tea.

2015-05-17 13.53.46We even witnessed a group of children giving a concert for parents and villagers – apparently a common occurrence in American towns.

2015-05-17 13.39.42-3It was a calming place; it gave me a sense of warmth and comfort at being there, sort of like going home. Pizza or no pizza, Mystic is on my list of favourites in CT, and I’ll certainly be visiting again.

Let me know what you think!

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2015 by in blogging, City Life, Connecticut, Food, lifestyle, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , .
petersouthlandphotography

Photography reviews, ramblings, and other things you need to know

E.E. Rawls Writes

Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Life; Blogger, Author, and Book-lover

This British-American Life

"The difference between America and England is that Americans think 100 years is a long time, while the English think 100 miles is a long way." --Earle Hitchner

the Netski Beat

A Style and Wellness Blog

Diary of an Expat

Chronicling My Life Living as an Expat in Galway, Ireland

Chasing Gains

Just a 19 year old bloke constantly trying to improve himself

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

Charlotte Fox

Style, Beauty, Tips, Tricks & Travel

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

Adventures of Lexie

Musings, daydreams, and adventures with a side of clumsy awkwardness

