City Girl Walking

Exploring life, one footstep at a time

Massages and Chia Bites 

Today has been… an experience. Some good bits some, well, let’s call them interesting bits.  This morning I stopped in for my morning Starbucks while catching up on a bit of work blogging. As I wrote I glanced at my nails and noticed it was time for a bit of maintenance. I’d walked past a place a couple of times that had cheap manicures -$10 – and I couldn’t resist.

Now, if I was looking for salubrious surroundings this would not be my nail salon of choice but, since I’m not yet working and having my nails done is most definitely a luxury, I decided I’d chance it.  It’s a Chinese owned family business and from what I gathered there’s a mix of family and a few (poorly paid as I later found out) Mexicans working there.

As I sat down and the Mexican woman started taking my last polish off, I surveyed my surroundings. It looked a lot like a local Chinese takeaway, the kind you might avoid if you had a choice, complete with health warnings and all…

As the manicure progressed I was surprised at how much I got for my cash. Then the extras started…  Did I want top coat? Erm… Yes! Extra dollar. Did I want a pedicure? That’s another $20. No I’m good for a pedicure. Even after the second time she asked I was still good.

After, I was taken to the ‘drying area’ and just when I thought I’d got a fairly good deal for my cash, despite the hard sell, the massage started! Did I want a 10 minute back massage for $10? Well she’d started, I could hardly say no! 10 minutes and a slightly battered back later… after my $10 had turned into $20, she then asked me if I wanted a tip.  I thought she meant nail tips so I said no. I’d already spent more than I bargained for! To which I received a stern glare, the question again, and a story about how poor the wages were and that she lived on tips. There goes another $10.

I spent $33 in total (Americans don’t like to tell you the tax on your purchases until you get to the till). Not so cheap after all!

After the trauma of the morning, I needed another coffee. I decided to try out a recommendation I got from Twitter for a place called Lorca. Thankfully, I wasn’t disappointed. It’s a quirky, arty sort of place – right up my street – and it serves delicious snacks (I tried the yummy Chia bites) and iced coffee with no extra sugar added! A rarity on the East Coast shores I’m learning.

     

So, after a slightly odd morning, Lorca certainly brightened my day!  Who knows what tomorrow holds… After today, I’m ready for anything.

Let me know what you think!

Information

This entry was posted on May 14, 2015 by in beauty, City Life, Connecticut, Expat, Food, lifestyle, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , .
petersouthlandphotography

Photography reviews, ramblings, and other things you need to know

E.E. Rawls Writes

Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Life. Blogger, Author, and Book-lover

This British-American Life

"The difference between America and England is that Americans think 100 years is a long time, while the English think 100 miles is a long way." --Earle Hitchner

the Netski Beat

A Style and Wellness Blog

Diary of an Expat

Chronicling My Life Living as an Expat in Galway, Ireland

Chasing Gains

Just a 19 year old bloke constantly trying to improve himself

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

Charlotte Fox

Style, Beauty, Tips, Tricks & Travel

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

Adventures of Lexie

Musings, daydreams, and adventures with a side of clumsy awkwardness

