City Girl Walking

Exploring life, one footstep at a time

Are you topped up?

As a kid I was described as gregarious, a social butterfly in fact; I found it easy to make friends back then.

butterfly-286280_1280

image source

As life progressed, things got in the way of developing and nurturing friendships. Illness first, and then studying became my life throughout my twenties. During these times, I became less and less social and found making friends, and making an effort with current friends, tougher and tougher. I lost confidence in myself and my ability to be social. I lost my wings.

Over the last five years, since completing my studying, meeting my husband and beginning to find the things that make me happiest, I’ve seen my confidence return and my social life pick up once more; but what’s changed?

Despite finishing studying and being fit and healthy, there are many other elements of life that could get in my way and prevent me from making the efforts required to build or nurture relationships.

Since starting my business almost 18 months ago, I can say this is one of those things. Building a business means often being alone and even when one isn’t alone, the meetings required to build a business aren’t like the fun times you have with friends over coffee.

Work demands, finances, and social media making us feel as though time together is less necessary than it once was, are all factors that can contribute to us making little effort to meet face-to-face.

Maybe it’s knowing I’m leaving the country very soon, or maybe it’s an age thing; whatever it is it’s made me realise:

“Relationships worth their salt take effort. For relationships to flourish all parties need to put in some time.”


coffee

image source

Less than four weeks from leaving the UK for the U.S., I have been spending as much time as possible with the people I love dearly. It’s tiring, and there’s a host of organising I should be doing, but it’s given me a sense of satisfaction nothing else in my life can achieve. I love my work, and I have hobbies that make me smile, but nothing lights me up like spending a few hours with the people that I care about most.

Prior to leaving for our adventure across the pond, I feel suitably topped up with the experiences only time can buy.

One thing that will be top of my priority list while I’m overseas is FaceTime with the people that matter most.

If you liked this post and want to read more, please follow me on this blog and check out my business blog @ http://psycatwork.blogspot.co.uk/. I also love to read your comments, so feel free to let me know what you think! Thanks for reading 🙂

Let me know what you think!

Information

This entry was posted on April 6, 2015 by in Connecticut, effort, Expat, friendships, New York, relationships, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , .
petersouthlandphotography

Photography reviews, ramblings, and other things you need to know

E.E. Rawls Writes

Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Life; Blogger, Author, and Book-lover

This British-American Life

"The difference between America and England is that Americans think 100 years is a long time, while the English think 100 miles is a long way." --Earle Hitchner

the Netski Beat

A Style and Wellness Blog

Diary of an Expat

Chronicling My Life Living as an Expat in Galway, Ireland

Chasing Gains

Just a 19 year old bloke constantly trying to improve himself

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

Charlotte Fox

Style, Beauty, Tips, Tricks & Travel

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

Adventures of Lexie

Musings, daydreams, and adventures with a side of clumsy awkwardness

