City Girl Walking

Exploring life, one footstep at a time

Expat Eyes – This time feels different

My Story.

In about six weeks from today, I plan to be making the move Stateside.

This isn’t my first big move, although it is my first move abroad. About ten years ago I packed a suitcase or two and bundled down from the good old Northern British city of Newcastle to explore the bright lights of London Town. Back then, I made the decision to leave Newcastle after recovery from a chronic illness that left me unable to walk for the best part of two years. I was grateful to have my life back, and I wanted to spread my wings once more.

newcastle

*Image is my own

Over the last ten years, I have had ups and downs in making a new city my home, but I’ve never once regretted my decision to move. I knew from the second I made the choice to up sticks that I’d done the right thing, not because I don’t love my home town, but because I needed to grow, and I had a thrust for adventure.

city-11087_1920

Image source

This time feels different.  

Moving to Southern Connecticut is something my husband and I have talked about on and off for about the last 18 months, but only recently did we decide it was the right time to take the plunge. There is nothing really pushing us to go; our move across the pond is a choice we’ve made together to create a better future for ourselves and our future family. Neither of us is 100% sure we want to go, we just know at this point in our lives that it’s the right thing to do.

I’m neither excited nor dreading the move, I’m sort of indifferent about it. The usual things that people would miss on leaving home; friends, family and familiar things are all swooshing around in my mind, and I know I will pine terribly for every person and local memory. However, right now, six weeks from moving and knee deep in visa forms and red tape, the main upheaval is reorganising my life to operate it from a different base.

1024px-US_Flag_Backlit

Image source

My goal is for Southern CT to feel like home as quickly as is practically possible. I want routine and structure; I want to know where to go if I want a great cup of coffee or I need to get my shoes heeled; I want to know where to post a letter or how to buy a stamp; I want to know where to get the best quality groceries at the best prices; I want to know who to call if the boiler breaks. I want the new place to feel as much like home as the old place.

Maybe my thirst for growth and adventure will return on arriving in the land of opportunity, but right now, I just need to find those work permit forms…

If you liked this post and want to read more, please follow me on this blog and check out my business blog @ http://psycatwork.blogspot.co.uk/. I also love to read your comments, so feel free to let me know what you think! Thanks for reading 🙂

2 comments on “Expat Eyes – This time feels different

  1. thatemily
    March 25, 2015

    Sounds like an exciting adventure! How have you sorted out visas/jobs etc for the move?
    All the best for your big move!

    Like

    • BeccaLongman1982
      March 25, 2015

      Hi Emily, thanks for your kind wishes! Mine is a spousal visa, so all has been handled by my husbands company.

      Like

Let me know what you think!

Information

This entry was posted on March 25, 2015 by in City Life, Connecticut, Expat, London, New York, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
petersouthlandphotography

Photography reviews, ramblings, and other things you need to know

E.E. Rawls Writes

Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Life. Blogger, Author, and Book-lover

This British-American Life

"The difference between America and England is that Americans think 100 years is a long time, while the English think 100 miles is a long way." --Earle Hitchner

the Netski Beat

A Style and Wellness Blog

Diary of an Expat

Chronicling My Life Living as an Expat in Galway, Ireland

Chasing Gains

Just a 19 year old bloke constantly trying to improve himself

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

Charlotte Fox

Style, Beauty, Tips, Tricks & Travel

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

Adventures of Lexie

Musings, daydreams, and adventures with a side of clumsy awkwardness

